Kevin Blissett: Out of the Cave

Leadership, Classroom 2.0, Curriculum, China

Schoolgirl Punished to Death

It’s really difficult to know what to say when I read something like this. These types of events, however, seem to occur all too frequently in Asia due to the cultural, social, and professional demands put on students and teachers. Granted, discipline in American public education is probably too lax, but some of the tactics I read about, hear about, and have observed in many Asian classrooms are truly terrifying.

April 17, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Leaving the Burrow

“OK, today I’m going to get out into classrooms, and nothing’s gonna 3016899799_ac4801b6fa get in my way!” I can’t tell you how many times I’ve uttered those words, but no matter how good my  intentions are, the “office” part of the job seems to always call for immediate attention. In this article from Principal magazine, former principal and superintendent Kathleen J. Parkhurst offers advice on how to make the most of one’s time and find space for visiting classrooms during the school day. Among her suggestions:

  • Organize a routine.
  • Keep an orderly office.
  • Delegate.
  • Answer email in chunks 2-3 times per day.
  • Have a proper filing system.
  • Get ready for tomorrow today.

I might add: escape while you can. One thing Parkhurst does not address is how to get into the classrooms when one is a teaching principal. Classroom visits clearly become more of problem when the principal is teaching 1/3 to 1/2 of the day. In this case, I just have to clear the entire slate some afternoons or mornings to make sure I’m seeing teachers and students, and they are seeing me.

Photo by ecastro

April 17, 2009 Posted by | multitasking, organization, principal, time management | Leave a comment