Kevin Blissett: Out of the Cave

Leadership, Classroom 2.0, Curriculum, China

My Students’ Progress via Class Blog

create_a_blog_best_free_hosted_publishing_services_mini-guide_size485My Year 11 students and I are really enjoying our class blog. I’m seeing a side of their creativity that I would not have seen otherwise, I’m guessing. The students are engaged, innovative, and genuinely seem to be excited about posting even if it’s an “assignment.”

Basically I’m having them do three types of post: One is a summary assigned to one student every day detailing what we did in class; the next is a daily reflection on most any topic; the third is a specific writing assignment which we collaborate on.

What I’m noticing is that I’m no longer spending time on discrete grammar lessons, and the students seem to be learning grammar faster because the learning is more meaningful. I highly recommend the use of class blogs for any subject.

March 31, 2009 - Posted by | social media, technology

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

