Kevin Blissett: Out of the Cave

Leadership, Classroom 2.0, Curriculum, China

Recent Accomplishments

Here is a list of accomplishments at my current school:

  • Increased enrollment by 50% three years in a row
  • Brought the school through the application process to WASC accreditation candidacy
  • Had our initial International Baccalaureate  Primary Years Program application accepted has now scheduled our initial visit
  • Our first two graduates were accepted to the University of Alberta and Tsinghua University
  • All school forms, documents, brochures, and the website were conceived and implemented under my watch
  • and more

March 15, 2009 Posted by | wasc | Leave a comment

Subjects Taught

These are the subjects I’ve taught for extended periods over the course of my career:

  • Secondary English and Literature (5 years)
  • AP Spanish 1-4;  Middle School Spanish (16 years)
  • Senior Philosophy (3 years)
  • Secondary Humanities (10 years)
  • Secondary History (1 year)
  • Secondary and Primary ESL (2 years)
  • Primary Math (1 year)

March 15, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Kevin’s Skills

I have a broad and effective skillset demonstrated by the following:

  • Educational systems creation and management
  • Curriculum development and management
  • Squeezing the most out of an administrative budget
  • Educational marketing
  • Developing outside support networks
  • IT skills, including Word, Excel, Acrobat, Photoshop, Dream Weaver, html and css, Publisher, etc.
  • Current with and excited about all the newest technologies
  • Fluent in English and Spanish;  novice to moderate in Korean, Mandarin, and German
  • Good relationships with colleagues and students, and the ability to pull the best out of them
  • Good working and personal relationship with Chinese staff

March 15, 2009 Posted by | skills, technology | Leave a comment

Short Biography

I was born and raised in Louisville, Kentucky.  (Go Cats!) While growing up, I was very interested in sports and academics, attending advanced program schools in the public system and studying on the honors track at a parochial school.  I played American football for eight years and also loved basketball and baseball.

Upon graduating from high school, I served a two-year mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the New Mexico-Albuquerque Mission (Spanish speaking).  From there I enrolled at Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah and graduated in three years on full and partial tuition scholarships.  I was inducted into the Phi Kappa Phi national honor society and into Sigma Delta Pi, the Hispanic studies honor society. My post graduate work took me to a stint at Vanderbilt University School of Law and then to the University of Louisville, again on full-tuition scholarship, where I did my master’s work.

I spent ten years as a Spanish and Humanities teacher in the Jefferson County Public School system where I also assumed leadership positions. I enjoyed serving as a football and track coach during after school hours.

I had my first experience in international education at the Busan Foreign School in Korea.  From there I moved on to China where I’ve been serving as the principal of the international department of Xi’an Hi-Tech International School in Xi’an, China.

I am married to Chelly Blissett, and we find our greatest joy in spending time with our family.

March 15, 2009 Posted by | XHIS | 2 Comments